friends · prayers · well it makes ME laugh

Seamus Heaney, RIP

Seamus Heaney died today at the age of 74. He was an Irish poet who seemed to have had quite the following.

I knew of him because my best friend in college got to spend time with him during an off campus program in Ireland. I emailed her today to inform her of his death, which I saw on Twitter, specifically Business Insider’s feed. She wrote back an email that I thought I would share with you as it made me nostalgic…and laugh.

Dear (Mother Crab),
He was not my professor exactly.  He was involved with the school that I went to while I was in Ireland.  He came to read his poems for us and drink.  He was a great poet and a great drinker!  We all had a ball with him.  He was a great poet, but he was just a serious ton of fun to be around.  Actually, he reminds me of your Dad, or your Dad reminds me of him….They were very similar in that way–just a ton of fun to be around.  They will be having a martini right about now. Thank you for letting me know that he had passed.   Look up “Digging,”  which is one of my favorites of his.  Best when read outloud for the texture of the language.  I know, I sound like a dork.
By the way,  why are you reading BI?  Loser.
Love,
(Mother Crab’s friend)
Leave a Reply

